Use the version history

Who can use this feature?

🔐 All users can view previous versions of items. Only workspace editors can restore previous versions.

⭐️ Available on the standard and premium plan.

The item version history allows you to compare different versions of your content, tracking who edited an item and when (feature available for all edits made from April 23, 2019 onward). You can also restore previous versions of your content. This helps you undo unwanted, accidental, or unauthorized changes.

Nuclino automatically saves versions while you're working based on how long you are working and how many changes you make. That way you don't need to worry about manually capturing previous versions.

To use the version history

  1. Open the item.

  2. Open the item menu in the top right.

  3. Choose View history.

    nuclino-open-version-history
  4. The version history is shown at the bottom of the item. While you drag the handle, the content of previous versions will be shown automatically.

nuclino-item-version-history

To compare different versions of an item and see what changed

  1. Drag the handle of the time slider to select a previous version.

  2. Added content will be highlighted in green. Deleted content will be highlighted in red.

nuclino-version-diff

To see who made the change and when

  1. Drag the handle of the time slider to select a previous version.

  2. Hover over the highlighted section of content.

  3. A tooltip will appear showing the author of the change and the time of the change.

nuclino-version-diff-attribution

To restore a previous version of an item

  1. Drag the handle of the time slider to select a previous version.

  2. Once you have found the version you want to restore, click on Restore. We will automatically save the current version in case you change your mind.